Chateau de Caraguilhes | The vineyards
17681
page-template-default,page,page-id-17681,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-7.7,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

The vineyards

Our vineyards cover 135 hectares and are strategically surrounded and protected by 500 hectares of garrigue (wild land) constituting an rich ecosystem riche and a unique environment.

Situated just 30 kilometers from the Mediterranean sea at altitudes of 100 to 180 meters, the vineyards at Caraguilhes are exposed to the north west wind (the Tramontane) which is a natural aide, keeping the vines healthy by limiting fungal maladies (champignons) and reducing the population of harmful insects. The wind also cools the vines on hot summer days, which helps to maintain acidity levels in the grapes and allows them to mature more slowly and more completely.

The huge diversity of types of soil (clay, limestone, sand, chalk, stony) and of exposition of the different parcels of land, create ideal production conditions. Each vineyard has  a unique character, and we aim to conserve this diversity in the quality of the grapes we grow and the wine we make. For our reds and rosés we cultivate Syrah, Carignan, Grenache noir, Mourvèdre, Cinsaut and Merlot, with Grenache blanc, Roussanne and Marsanne grown for our whites.

Caraguilhes would be a dream site for any wine-maker. The combination of different grape varieties and climatic conditions delivers a rich palette of aromas, colours and flavours allowing us to express the complex personality of our vineyards through our unique blends. And after 30 in organic production, we are pleased to say that in 2016 we took the next step and started to experiment with biodynamic methods.

Chateau de Caraguilhes | Le Vignoble
16427
page,page-id-16427,page-template-default,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-7.7,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.7.4,vc_responsive

Le Vignoble

27552 C

Nos 135 hectares de vignoble sont stratégiquement entourés et protégés par 500 hectares de garrigue, constituant un écosystème riche et un environnement unique.

Situé à quelques 30 kilomètres de la mer Méditerranée avec des altitudes variant de 100 à 180 mètres, le vignoble de Caraguilhes est exposé à un vent de nord ouest (la Tramontane) qui assainit naturellement les vignes en limitant les maladies cryptogamiques (champignons) et la densité d’insectes ravageurs. Ce vent induit aussi une fraicheur ambiante dans le vignoble durant les chauds jours d’été, ce qui permet de maintenir des bons niveaux d’acidité dans les raisins et d’assurer une maturation plus lente et plus complète.

La grande diversité des sols : argiles, argilo-sableux, calcaires et galets roulés, tout autant que celle des différentes expositions du vignoble créent des conditions idéales de production. Chaque parcelle présente un caractère unique et nous essayons de conserver au mieux cette diversité dans l’expression de nos raisins et de nos vins. Pour nos rouges, nous cultivons les cépages suivants : Syrah, Carignan, Grenache noir, Mourvèdre, Merlot, Alicante et Cabernet-Sauvignon; et pour nos blancs: Grenache blanc, Roussanne et Marsanne.

Caraguilhes représente un terrain rêvé pour tout vigneron. La diversité des cépages et des conditions climatiques nous offrent une palette d’arômes, de couleurs et de saveurs extrêmement riche qui nous permettent de créer des assemblages uniques qui expriment la complexité et les caractéristiques de nos différents terroirs.

653_5341